Advisory Committee to Select Next Chancellor Announced

Members of the Advisory Committee for selecting the next Chancellor for UC Irvine have been chosen, according to a report.
The Committee is set to be comprised of five Regents from the University of California Regent’s Board, five faculty members, Chair Bruce Varner, UC Irvine Alumni representative Kurt Bosch, UC Irvine Foundation Chair Dr. Hazem Chebhabi, Chair of UC Irvine Staff Assembly, and Director of Technology Jason Valdry.
The faculty representatives include Professor of Biological Sciences Tim Bradley; Criminology, Law and Society Professor Simon Cole; Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Professor and Vice Chair of UC Irvine School of Medicine Marian Waterman; UCSF Nursing Professor Sandra Weiss; and Professor of Mathematics at UC Santa Barbara and Chair of the UC Academic Senate William Jacob .
The Committee will also include student representatives Justin Chung, president of AGS, and ASUCI President Nicole Hisatomi.
The Committee will meet several times to discuss candidates for the position. Its first meeting is scheduled for Friday, April 11, at UC Irvine and will be closed to the public. Other meetings will follow in which interviews of candidates will be conducted and screened for further consideration.
The Committee will be responsible for sending recommendations to University of California President Janet Napolitano and UC Regents for the next Chancellor of UC Irvine. While the Committee will be responsible for narrowing down the list of candidates, the University of California Board of Regents will make the final decision.
According to the report, the Committee’s tentative deadline for submission of recommendations to President Napolitano is in September of 2014, while current Chancellor Drake is scheduled to leave his post as Chancellor of UC Irvine in June 2014. Until a new Chancellor is selected, current Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Howard Gilman will serve as interim-Chancellor in Drake’s absence.